Ruth Carter Prize for Nursing Achievments

DAPHCS wishes to congratulate CPONN Whybrow following recent recognition of his outstanding contribution to mental health practice.

CPONN Whybrow was recently awarded the Ruth Carter Prize for nursing achievements. This is the second time he has received this particular award! It was presented to him on 20 Jul by HNNS Capt Inga Kennedy QARNNS. The award was made for the outstanding work he has done for RNMH and for the wider DMHS. The Ruth Carter Prize for Nurses is awarded to a nurse rating, or nursing officer of OF3 rank or below, who is judged to have made a notable contribution towards nursing and patient care in the Royal Navy.

On the 21 September 2012 CPONN Whybrow was presented with the Best Mental Health Worker award in the ‘Portsmouth News’ Best of Health Awards for Hampshire. The award was in recognition of the outstanding commitment and achievements he has made to mental health practice and development. This is not only in the Department of Community Mental Health (DCMH) in Portsmouth but across Defence Mental Health Services (DMHS). The nomination was for the stepped and high intensity care pathways he developed to ensure the right patient received the right treatment and the right time. He also developed teaching packages so that other DCMH could implement the same protocols to improve care. Operationally, he carried out several audits whilst deployed on OP HERRICK as part of the Force Mental Health Team(FMHT) last year. This was in order to monitor, assess and potentially improve mental health support to operations, which he hopes will be published in the coming months.

Currently he is studying for a PhD in Organisational Mental Health which will include research into understanding how military mental health nurses help to maintain operational effectiveness of the Armed Forces.

CPONN Whybrow is thoroughly deserving of both prestigious awards and is an example to all who work in mental health. He is a credit to the Royal Navy (RN), Queen Alexandra’s Royal Naval Nurses (QARNNS) and Army Primary Health Care Services (APHCS).


Cdr Carol Betteridge OBE QARNNS

Cdr Carol Betteridge OBE QARNNS was presented with the NATO Meritorious Service Medal by Admiral James Stavridis Supreme Allied Commander Europe (SACEUR) on 19 Sept 2012 at NCHQ in recognition of her outstanding work as Commander of the R3 Joint Medical Facility at Camp Bastion throughout HERRICK 14.


Sep 2012 – BACCN Region of the Year

The Military region of the British Association of Critical Care Nurses were awarded the BACCN Region of the Year 2012. This, in recognition of the region’s efforts to widen the visibility of critical care nursing, engaging current and potential members in diverse locations and promoting the BACCN.

The Chair of the Region, Capt Chris Carter, QARANC was also awarded the BACCN Regional Member of the Year in recognition of his efforts to re-invigorate the region which have been very successful.

Currently there is one RN representative on the Military region committee, Lt Lloyd Cantillon and two region link members, for MDHU Portsmouth, PONN Su Jeffries and MDHU Derriford, LNN MacAllister.

The awards were presented at the annual conference in Brighton, which this year was the International variant of the occasion.


June 2012 – Best Student Award

Congratulations to NN Hannah Stephenson for winning the Eliza MacKenzie Prize this year. Her prize was presented to her by Capt Kennedy QARNNS.


June 2011 – Queen’s Birthday Honours

Congratulations to Lt Cdr Debra Hounsome MBE on receiving the Member of the Order of the British Empire Award in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.


June 2011 – Stoma Nurse of the Year Awards UK

Congratulations to LNN Dowdall on achieving Runner Up for the Stoma Nurse of the Year Award for her secondary duties as Stoma Nurse at Headley Court.


June 2011 – Best Student Award

Congratulations to LNN Kenny Mair on achieving the Eliza MacKenzie Prize for best student nurse of the year for his achievements during his nurse training. This was presented to him by Capt Allkins DNNS 22 June 2011 at RCDM.


May 2011 – QARNN wins Endeavour Award

Congratulations to Lt Alex Wright-Jones on achieving the Endeavour Award on the Intermediate Command and Staff Course (Maritime).


Feb 2011 – QARNN wins Endeavour Award

Congratulations to Lt Janette Cooper on achieving the Endeavour Award on the Intermediate Command and Staff Course (Maritime).


Sep 2010 – Best Student Award

Congratulations to LNN Leanne Parry on achieving the Eliza MacKenzie Prize for best student nurse of the year for her achievements during her nurse training. The award was presented by Capt Allkins DNNS at the QARNNS Symposium Sep 2010.


Mar 2010 – QARNN wins Leadership course prize

Congratulations to LNN Bernie Quinn who received the Herbert Lott award for outstanding leadership whilst on Leading Rates Leadership Course in Mar 2010.

Check out the latest on our blog

Interested in joining QARNNS?

Join our Association